Team to face Merthyr at the Brewery

Bridgend Ravens are at home again this Saturday when Merthyr visit the Timbuild Brewery Field for an Indigo Premiership match, kicking off at the earlier time of 1:30pm.

The game was originally scheduled for 18th December, but with rising Covid cases in Wales, the semi-professional game largely went into shutdown over the Christmas period. The teams now meet this Saturday, kicking off at 1:30pm, to allow supporters to enjoy the England v Wales Guinness Six Nations game which kicks off at 4:45pm that afternoon.

The Ravens come into the game in buoyant mood following a much improved showing last Saturday, albeit in defeat against Cardiff at the Brewery. Bridgend battled in tough conditions against their high flying opponents, scoring twice through Dewi Cross and Harvey Nash. It was the capital side that ultimately took victory, crossing for five scores of their own.

Merthyr were involved in a high scoring encounter against Llandovery at the Wern last weekend. They found themselves 12pts to 33 down at half time, but an inspired second half performance saw them earn two bonus points in defeat, losing 36pts to 43.

Alun Wyn Davies adjusts his lineup from the side that featured last weekend. Edd Howley moves to fullback, with Stuart Floyd Ellis coming into the side on the wing after an impressive cameo last weekend. Dewi Cross continues on the other wing. Tom Morgan is back from injury to partner Joseph Gatt in the centre, Matthew Jones and Chris Williams retain their places at half back.

Bridgend’s front row is bolstered by the return of Gareth Harvey from injury. He packs down alongside Owen Jordan and Cai Lewis. Ross Fox is selected in the second row with Kieran Martin and the backrow is unchanged; comprising Zac O’Driscoll, Aled Evans and Rob Dudley Jones.

There could be a Ravens debut for scrum half Dai Pritchard if he comes off the replacements bench. Jamie Murphy will also be hoping to make an appearance following a spell out of the side with injury.

Bridgend Ravens XV: 15. Edd Howley 14. Stuart Floyd Ellis 13. Joseph Gatt 12. Tom Morgan 11. Dewi Cross 10. Matthew Jones 9. Chris Williams

1. Owen Jordan 2. Gareth Harvey 3. Cai Lewis 4. Ross Fox 5. Kieran Martin 6. Aled Evans 7. Zac O’Driscoll (capt) 8. Rob Dudley Jones

Replacements – 16. Rhydian Jenkins 17. Rhodri Apsee 18. Ben Warren 19. Hemi Barnes 20. Travis Huntley 21. Dai Pritchard 22. Jamie Murphy 23. Tyler Williams