Team to face Llanelli (H)

Bridgend Ravens host Llanelli on Friday evening in the latest round of Indigo Premiership Cup matches (7:30pm). 

The tie pits the two sides occupying the lower positions in the West Division against each other as they both look to kick start a winning run and gain some momentum ahead of the start of the league campaign next month. The Ravens come into the game having suffered back to back defeats; to Swansea and Carmarthen Quins. Llanelli are looking for their first competitive victory of the season, having lost all of their games to date.

When they met earlier in the season, Bridgend came away with victory in a tight, cagey affair at Parc y Scarlets. Tries from Lee Murphy and Tom Florence, along with the boot of experienced outside half Matthew Jones earned the Ravens the win – 21pts to 18.

After a week without a game, Steve Jones’ charges head into this game desperate to gain their first home win of the season. There are a few changes from the side which featured last at Carmarthen, with Bridgend’s Ospreys contingent unavailable; featuring for the region’s ‘A’ side at the Gnoll tomorrow afternoon as part of a development block of matches.

Edd Howley and Joseph Gatt are back in the side and selected in the Ravens’ back three, along with Caine Woolerton. Stuart Floyd Ellis and Tom Morgan get the nod in the centre with Matthew Jones, back from injury, and Chris Williams at half back.

Bridgend’s front row comprises Rhodri Apsee, Gareth Harvey and Cai Lewis; and Chris John and Kieran Martin continue in the second row. Reuben Tucker returns to the back row, joining captain Zac O’Driscoll and Aled Evans.

There could be a first Bridgend Ravens competitive appearance of the season for Jacob Chilcott who is named amongst Bridgend’s replacements.

Bridgend XV: 15. Edd Howley 14. Caine Woolerton 13. Stuart Floyd Ellis 12. Tom Morgan 11. Joseph Gatt 10. Matthew Jones 9. Chris Williams

1. Rhodri Apsee 2. Gareth Harvey 3. Cai Lewis 4. Chris John 5. Kieran Martin 6. Aled Evans 7. Zac O’Driscoll (capt) 8. Reuben Tucker

Replacements: 16. Lee Murphy 17. Owen Jordan 18. Curtis Hicks 19. Hemi Barnes 20. Rob Dudley Jones 21. Paul Short 22. Jacob Chilcott 23. Owen Howe


Llanelli XV: 15. Josh Phillips 14. Eray Wilson 13. Ryan Davies 12. Iwan Evans 11. Amir Jiwa Walji 10. Ioan Hughes (capt) 9. Ifan Beynon Thomas

1. Dylan Lawley 2. Rhys Cherry 3. Rhys Davies 4. Ashleigh Hyndman 5. Elis Hopkins 6. Ellis Thomas 7. Jacob Lewis 8. Nathan Hart

Replacements: 16. Morgan Macrae 17. Sam O’Connor 18. Lewis Davies 19. Sam Martin 20. Caine Rees Jones 21. Harri Williams 22. Jonny Lewis 23. Harrison Button