Bridgend Ravens Squad

Team to face Ebbw Vale

Bridgend Ravens kick off a busy final week of the 2021/22 Indigo Premiership season with a re-arranged trip to Ciner Glass Stadium on Wednesday evening to face Ebbw Vale (7:30pm). 

The Ravens face a hectic last week of action, with two tricky away ties at Ebbw Vale (Wednesday) and Llandovery (Saturday). They’ll be looking to build on their last outing, a fine win against Aberavon at the Timbuild Brewery Field, played in front of the season’s biggest crowd. Bridgend are three points behind the Steelmen in the current league standings and will be looking to leapfrog their hosts with a win.

Ebbw Vale are playing their final game of the campaign and will be looking to end in style after a disappointing defeat at Pontypridd last Saturday. The Valley commandos had too much for Jason Strange’s side, winning 14pts to 3.  They have won three games since the start of the league campaign in December, beating Llanelli, Swansea and Llandovery, all at home.

The sides have yet to play each other this season, with the last meeting between them way back in December 2019. Owen Howe’s boot secured an 18pts to 15 win for the Ravens that afternoon.

With a busy week ahead, Alun Wyn Davies shuffles his squad for the penultimate match of the season. Cameron Ellis and Joseph Gatt both come in from the start on the wing, with Edd Howley continuing at full back. Stuart Floyd Ellis and Jamie Murphy get the nod again in midfield, with Paul Short and Chris Williams the half backs.

Amongst the forwards, Owen Jordan, Gareth Harvey and Cai Lewis comprise the front row. Bowen Davies and Kieran Martin go again in the second row, with Hemi Barnes, Dafi Davies and Zac O’Driscoll the back row.

Bridgend XV: 15. Edd Howley 14. Cameron Ellis 13. Stuart Floyd Ellis 12. Jamie Murphy 11. Joseph Gatt 10. Paul Short 9. Chris Williams

1. Owen Jordan 2. Gareth Harvey 3. Cai Lewis 4. Bowen Davies 5. Kieran Martin 6. Dafi Davies 7. Zac O’Driscoll (capt) 8. Hemi Barnes

Replacements: 16. Lee Murphy 17. Rhodri Apsee 18. Adam Court 19. Rob Dudley Jones 20. Travis Huntley 21. Harvey Nash 22. Matthew Jones 23. Nathan Edwards