Squad named to face Maesteg Quins (a)

Bridgend Ravens take to the field for the first time since March 2020 with a pre-season trip to South Parade to face Maesteg Quins on Saturday afternoon (2:30pm). 

The game gives Head Coach Steve Jones the first opportunity to see his players in action ahead of the Indigo Premiership Cup which begins on September 18th with the visit of Carmarthen Quins to the Brewery Field.

There’s been some significant changes to the makeup of the squad since Bridgend’s last outing, but the core of experience remains and Saturday’s game provides the perfect opportunity to integrate the new recruits along with a chance for some youngsters to stake a claim for a place in the squad for the coming season.

Maesteg Quins come into the game full of confidence after a hugely impressive 32pts to 23 over Neath last weekend in the Championship Cup. Dean Ronan’s side continue to punch well above their weight and will have their eyes on another big scalp on Saturday afternoon.

The last time the two sides met, Bridgend came out on top in a firey pre-season clash at the Brewery in 2019. The Ravens came away 41pts to 7 victors with Andy Evans scoring a hattrick on his club debut. Bridgend will be hoping for more of the same, but they know they’re facing a tough Quins outfit who will be desperate to continue their good form.

Bridgend have named an extended matchday squad with the aim of giving gametime to as many players as possible in their first hit out back in action.

There could be as many as 10 Bridgend debuts with Ellis Fackrell, Lee Murphy, Ross Fox, Reuben Tucker, Hemi Barnes, Tom Lucas, Paul Short, Tom Morgan, Cameron Ellis and Ed Howley all set to feature. Joseph Gatt, Zac O’Driscoll, Chris John and Matthew Jones have all featured for the Ravens before and will be making their second debut for the club. It’s set to be an exciting afternoon at South Parade as Bridgend Ravens finally return to action!

Bridgend Ravens Squad:  

Forwards: Rhodri Apsee, Rhys Forse, Owen Jordan, Cai Lewis, Ellis Fackrell, Gareth Harvey, Lee Murphy, Ross Fox, Chris John, Matthew Davies, Aled Evans, Travis Huntley, Reuben Tucker, Zac O’Driscoll, Iestyn Merriman, Dafi Davies & Hemi Barnes.

Backs: Chris Williams, Tom Lucas, Paul Short, Jacob Lloyd, Matthew Jones, Jamie Murphy, Tom Morgan, Nathan Edwards, Stuart Floyd Ellis, Joseph Gatt, Caine Woolerton, Cameron Ellis, Owen Howe & Ed Howley.

Maesteg Quins XV: 15. Kieran Watkins 14. Harry Morgan Grant 13. Brandon Huntley 12. Lewis Evans 11. Alex Griffiths 10. Tadgh McGuckin 9. Jakob Williams

1. Ethan Longley 2. Cameron Thomas 3. Akeem Eubank Anderson 4. Nathan Smith 5. Nathan Ace 6. Stephen Williams (capt) 7. Mathew Tidball 8. Michael Owen

Reps: Gavin Burridge, Dean Ronan, Aled Evans, Lewis Tutt, Andrew Healy, Dan Hughes, Emyr Williams, Dylan Morgan, Josh Sands, Lee Ronan, Ryan Lovett, Jamie Wooten