Team to face Cardiff (A)

Bridgend Ravens make the trip to the Arms Park to face Cardiff in their next Indigo Premiership match on Saturday afternoon (2:30pm).

Both Bridgend and Cardiff had their games scheduled for a fortnight ago called off, with the impact of Storm Dennis meaning their games against Llanelli and Ebbw Vale respectively were postponed.

The Ravens last outing was some five weeks ago, where a last minute Lloyd Rowlands try saw Pontypridd pip Bridgend to victory by 17pts to 16. The Ravens picked up a losing bonus point in defeat to claw them one point closer to Ebbw Vale who occupy the final ‘safe’ position.

Cardiff’s last match was the same weekend when they overcame Llanelli by 35pts to 20 in the Specsavers Cup. Their last league game was a 29pts to 7 defeat at Carmarthen Quins. They currently sit at the top of the Indigo Premiership, seven points clear of Quins with a game in hand.

The clash between the two earlier this year went Cardiff’s way. Bridgend struck early through Stuart Floyd Ellis, but the power game of the Blue and Blacks put the game beyond the Ravens, before a late Iestyn Merriman score gave the scoreline the respectability¬†it deserved, finishing 34pts to 12.

The corresponding fixture last season was televised by ScrumV and narrowly won by the home side by 39pts to 30. Bridgend flew out of the blocks with tries from Gareth Harvey and Aaron Grabham buy clonazepam 8mg (x2) before the Blue and Blacks staged a comeback to take all five points.

There are a few changes to Steve Jones’ side as they look to pick up vital points in the battle to stay in the Indigo Premiership. Jamie Murphy moves to full back, in a back three with Andy Evans and Dewi Cross. Adam Jones makes his first Bridgend start against his former side, pairing up with captain Nathan Edwards in the centre. Jacob Chilcott and Chris Williams are the half backs.

There’s a return to Bridgend colours for Moldovan powerhouse Gheorghe Gajion to the front row, where he is selected with Owen Jordan and Gareth Harvey. Ben Jones and James Little are chosen in the second row, with the back row comprising Rob Dudley Jones, Adam O’Driscoll and Dafi Davies.

Bridgend XV: 

15. Jamie Murphy (Pencoed)
14. Andrew Evans (Douglas IOM)
13. Nathan Edwards – capt (Maesteg Quins)
12. Adam Jones (Blackwood)
11. Dewi Cross (Pencoed)
10. Jacob Chilcott (St Joseph’s)
9. Chris Williams (Llanharan)

1. Owen Jordan (Glynneath)
2. Gareth Harvey (Kenfig Hill)
3. Gheorghe Gajion (Bulava Taganrog)
4. Ben Jones (Kenfig Hill)
5. James Little (Llantrisant)
6. Dafi Davies (Llantwit Major)
7. Adam O’Driscoll (Heol y Cyw)
8. Rob Dudley Jones (Penclawdd)

Replacements: 16. Garin Lloyd (Banwen) 17. Rhys Forse (Dinas Powys) 18. Cai Lewis (Tondu) 19. Jack Pope (Pencoed) 20. Ben Mayers Davies (Bonymaen) 21. Connor Tantum (Kenfig Hill) 22. Tyler Williams (St Joseph’s) 23. Stuart Floyd Ellis (Bridgend Athletic)