2018/2019 WRU National Cup
Newbridge 0 v 21 Bridgend
26 January 2019 - Welfare Ground, Newbridge
Bridgend Ravens

Match Preview

Team to face Newbridge (A) National Cup

Bridgend Ravens take a break from Principality Premiership action when they travel to Newbridge in the last sixteen of the WRU National Cup on Saturday (2:30pm).

The three times winners are hovering just below the four relegation places in Welsh rugby's top flight but put in a much improved showing, taking a losing bonus point in defeat from high flying Ebbw Vale on Saturday. 
Championship side Newbridge currently sit ninth in the twelve team division with 23pts from their 16 league matches. Their recent form has been patchy, although they did secure an impressive 21pts to 12 win over Trebanos last time out. This followed a 20pts to 19 defeat at Maesteg Harlequins and a 0pts to 52 home thumping against leaders Pontypool. 
This is the first time the sides have met since the 2004/5 Premiership season. Bridgend Ravens won both games as the Gwent side endured a torrid campaign seeing them relegated. The game at The Welfare Ground finished 13pts to 3 in Bridgend's favour, with the Ravens dishing out a thumping in the return clash at the Brewery by 65pts to 10.
Matt Silva mixes things up to give some of his squad an opportunity to impress ahead of a hectic league schedule. Tyler Williams, Geraint Roberts and Mike Powell form the back three with Will Holley and Morgan Jones the centres. Ryan Evans partners Connor Tantum at half back. 
Up front, Ollie Evans makes his fiftieth Bridgend Ravens appearance in a front row with Owen Thomas and Neil Elworthy. Captain for the day Jack Pope and James Little are the selection in the boilerhouse. Owain Lloyd, Joe Grabham and Matthew John comprise the back row.
Amongst Bridgend's replacements is scrum half Cameron Jones who will look to impress on permit from Maesteg Celtic.
Bridgend XV: 15. Tyler Williams 14. Geraint Roberts 13. Will Holley 12. Morgan Jones 11. Mike Powell 10. Ryan Evans 9. Connor Tantum
1. Ollie Evans 2. Owen Thomas 3. Neil Elworthy 4. Jack Pope (capt) 5. James Little 6. Owain Lloyd 7. Joe Grabham 8. Matthew John
Replacements: 16. Iestyn Merriman 17. Owen Jordan 18. Garyn Daniel 19. Adam O'Driscoll 20. Dafi Davies 21. Cameron Jones 22. Chris Williams 23. Aaron Grabham
There are limited spaces remaining on the supporters bus travelling to the game. If you want to book a place, please contact Aled Thomas on 07532196963 as soon as possible. The bus leaves Sadlers Bar at 12:30pm, returning 30 minutes after the match, costing just £10 for Adults and £5 for Children. 

Sadlers Bar will be serving breakfast from 11am, along with tea, coffee and other refreshments. The bar opens at 11am.