2017/2018 Principality Premiership
Llandovery 31 v 10 Bridgend
04 November 2017 - Church Bank, Llandovery
Bridgend Ravens

Match Preview

Team to face Llandovery (A)

Bridgend Ravens head west on Saturday to face Llandovery at Church Bank (KO 2:30pm).

Bridgend, buoyed by some superb results lately, moved up to fifth on Saturday afternoon after a comprehensive bonus point win over last season’s runners up Aberavon. This win followed a narrow one point loss at RGC and a victory over Neath at the Morganstone Brewery Field. The Ravens travel to Llandovery with the wind of fine form firmly in their wings.

Llandovery, currently second in the table, come into the game on the back of two defeats. RGC swept the Drovers aside last time out by 24-7, with Carmarthen Quins taking victory the previous week. Their only other defeat came against Aberavon at Talbot Athletic Ground, with five victories propelling them to challenge for top spot in the west conference.

The previous meeting between the sides was a tight affair, with Bridgend pushing Llandovery until two late tries settled the tie in favour of the visitors. Aaron Grabham scored the home side’s only try with Ryan Evans’ boot adding the rest of the points in a 13-31 reverse and ensured Bridgend’s dismal run of not beating Llandovery since 2008 continued.

There are a few changes to the squad which beat Aberavon. Tyler Williams and Aaron Grabham continue in the back three, where they are joined by Ed Doe. Joseph Gatt and Jamie Murphy maintain their place in midfield. Cai Evans returns to the side at 10 with Will Baird at 9.

Ollie Evans, Iestyn Merriman and Garyn Daniel comprise the front row with Chris John partnering Kieran Martin in the second row. The back row remains the same as the one which downed the Wizards.

Bridgend XV: 15. Tyler Williams 14. Aaron Grabham 13. Joseph Gatt 12. Jamie Murphy 11. Ed Doe 10. Cai Evans 9. Will Baird

1. Ollie Evans 2. Iestyn Merriman 3. Garyn Daniel 4. Chris John 5. Kieran Martin 6. Matthew John 7. Zac O’Driscoll (capt) 8. Ashton Evans

Replacements: 16. Gareth Harvey 17. Owen Jordan 18. Cai Lewis 19. Owain Lloyd 20. Adam O’Driscoll 21. Garin Lougher 22. Ryan Evans 23. Morgan Jones