2012/2013 Principality Premiership
Swansea 13 v 20 Bridgend
17 November 2012 - St Helen's, Swansea
Bridgend Ravens

Match Preview

Swansea v Ravens Preview

Bridgend Ravens travel to St Helens this Saturday (17th, KO 2:30pm), knowing that victory over Swansea will be their fourth league win in a row and a clean sweep of Ospreylian derbies. 

The Ravens rejuvenated their season back at the start of October, eventually winning a 12-try thriller against Newport 42-35. Since then they have ground out narrow victories over Neath and Aberavon, as well as taking the points in a dominant British & Irish Cup performance against Cardiff.

However, their opponents Swansea have yet to turn their campaign around and have just one win in the league and one in the cup, against Aberavon and Dundee HSFP respectively. They sit bottom of the Principality Premiership table with six points but have scored just two tries less than Bridgend, so the Ravens will once again have to be well-organised and disciplined in defence to keep the Whites out.

The Ravens have provided the Ospreys with an impressive seven players who are expected to start in the regional outfit's LV= Cup match away to Exeter Chiefs tomorrow. However, they have managed to name just one change from the team that held on to victory against Aberavon at the Riverside Hardware Brewery Field two weeks ago, as Daniel Suter replaces Owen Williams – the latter being part of an all-Bridgend front row for the Ospreys.

Jamie Murphy has been instrumental for the Ravens in their recent victories and he keeps his place at flyhalf. Veteran Steve Winn has also made a big impact since cementing his position in the side and he starts outside Murphy at 12.

Adam Hillier-Rees finished a fantastic team try against Aberavon and he stays at Number 8 with hard-working captain Jonathon Vaughan on the flank joined by Andrew Waite.

Ravens squad to face Swansea:

15. Ashley Evans
 14. Rhys Ward Jones
 13. Nathan Edwards
 12. Steve Winn
 11. Luke Morgan
 10. Jamie Murphy
 9. Chris Williams 
8. Adam Hillier-Rees
 7. Jonathon Vaughan (c)
 6. Andrew Waite
 5. Lee Davies 4. Shaun O'Rourke
 3. Daniel Suter
 2. Ashleigh James
 1. Jonathan Thomas

Replacements: Rod Apsee, Chris Francis, Gary Carpenter, Alex Jones, Scott Hicks, Sam Campbell, Ben Thomas, Kyle Barrett

Referee: Simon Rees (Wales)