Bridgend Ravens
2012/2013 Principality Premiership
Bridgend 14 v 9 Aberavon
03 November 2012 - Morganstone Brewery Field, Bridgend

Match Preview

Aberavon (h) Preview

Bridgend Ravens will be searching for their third Principality Premiership victory in a row as they host Aberavon at the Riverside Hardware Brewery Field on Saturday (3rd, KO 2:30pm).

It's the second of three Ospreys-region derbies in a row for the Ravens, who face Swansea at St Helens next weekend after victory away to Neath last Saturday. The Wizards are yet to win away from home this season but have beaten second-placed Bedwas and became the first team to take points off Llandovery this campaign, in a thrilling 32-32 encounter at Talbot Athletic Ground last weekend.

Despite a number of injuries and several players getting the regional call-up due to the upcoming internationals, the Ravens have named a mostly unchanged XV. Ashley Evans replaces Tom Grabham at fullback and Rhys Ward Jones starts on the wing as cover for the injured Glen Lewis. Halfbacks Chris Williams and Jamie Murphy keep their places, as well as the centre-pairing of Steve Winn and Nathan Edwards.

It's up front where the Ravens have looked strong in recent games though and there are just three changes here. Jonathan Thomas replaces namesake Marc, Ashleigh James starts at hooker and Shaun O'Rourke is in the second row for Lloyd Peers who is on Ospreys duty.

Ravens squad to face Aberavon:

15. Ashley Evans
14. Rhys Ward Jones
13. Nathan Edwards
12. Steve Winn
11. Luke Morgan
10. Jamie Murphy
9. Chris Williams

8. Adam Hillier-Rees
7. Jonathon Vaughan (c)
6. Andrew Waite
5. Lee Davies
4. Shaun O'Rourke
3. Owen Williams
2. Ashleigh James
1. Jonathan Thomas

Replacements: Rod Apsee, Roy Jones, Ken Dowding, Alex Jones, Scott Hicks, Ben Thomas, Kyle Barrett, Jonathan Leyshon, Alun Evans

Aberavon squad:

Jonathan Phillips, Richard Carter, Matthew Jenkins, Will Price, Stefan Andrews, Jamie Davies, Joe Heatley, Rowan Jenkins, Evan Yardley, Andrew Clatworthy, Gavin Ronan, Ian Moore (c), Darryl Thomas, Ben Thomas, Nathan Brown

Replacements: Richard Thomas, Craig Evans, Ieuan Davies, Chris Davies, Rhydian Gierat/Joe Tomalin-Reeves, Chris John, Richard Morris, Neil White

Referee: Neil Hennessy (Wales)